Festival Internazionale
di Letteratura a Venezia
3 6 Aprile 2019

Italian bibliography

Storia di Ásta, trad. di Silvia Cosimini, Iperborea, 2018;

Grande come l’universo, trad. di Silvia Cosimini, Iperborea, 2016;

I pesci non hanno gambe, trad. di Silvia Cosimini, Iperborea, 2015;

Il cuore dell’uomo, trad. di Silvia Cosimini, Iperborea, 2014;

Luce d’estate ed è subito notte, trad. di Silvia Cosimini, Iperborea, 2013; 

La tristezza degli angeli, trad. di Silvia Cosimini, Iperborea, 2012;

Paradiso e Inferno, trad. di Silvia Cosimini, Iperborea, 2011.

Jón Kalman Stefánsson ICELAND

Friday, 5 April — 5.30 pm — Auditorium S. Margherita Ca' Foscari


Jón Kalman Stefánsson was born in Reykjavík in 1963. A former teacher and librarian, over the last few years he has created a unique and enchanting fictional world in a series of related novels and short stories. Four of these works have been nominated for the Nordic Council Literary Prize. In 2005 Stefánsson received the Icelandic Literature Prize for Summer Light, And Then Comes the Night (2007). Stefánsson made his international breakthrough with his "Trilogy about the Boy", which includes Heaven and Hell (2010), The Sorrow of Angels (2013) and The Heart of Man (2015), for which he gained international recognition, numerous prizes and a feature film deal. The first book in his subsequent duology, Fish Have No Feet, was longlisted for the Man Booker International Prize and received numerous international awards. His latest novel, The Story of Ásta (2017), became an instant bestseller in Iceland upon publication.

The event is fully booked. If you come to the venue 15 minutes prior to the beginning of the event, it is likely that there will be some seats available.

Jón Kalman Stefánsson and Mikael Niemi will converse with


Massimo Ciaravolo — Università Ca' Foscari Venezia


The conversation will be in English (consecutive translation available); free admission, booking required.

This event is sponsored by Dipartimento di Studi Linguistici e Culturali ComparatiIcelandic Literature Center and Swedish Arts Council

In collaboration with Iperborea