21st International Symposium on Wood, Fiber and Pulping Chemistry
4th-7th July 2023, Ca’ Foscari University of Venice

The International Symposium on Wood, Fiber and Pulping Chemistry is the leading international scientific research event in the areas of wood, fiber and pulping chemistry, wood components, lignocellulosic materials, forest biotechnology and biorefinery. It gathers several hundreds of scientists, technologists, and experts from all over the world with the aim to exchange and disseminate new ideas and discoveries, and to promote collaborations.

ISWFPC 2023 is the 21st of the series, the first after the event organized in Japan in 2019 (20th ISWFPC) and the stop imposed by the pandemic.


Download the programme and the book of abstracts available through the links here below. The book of abstracts is available only for the Symposium attendees.

Please use the following citation for the book of abstracts:

  • Conference Proceedings, Vol. I Oral Presentations, ISWFPC2023, Venice, Italy, 4th-7th July 2023, C. Crestini, H. Lange, M. Gigli, M. Sgarzi (eds.), ISBN 9788831461573. 
  • Conference Proceedings, Vol. II Poster Presentations, ISWFPC2023, Venice, Italy, 4th-7th July 2023, C. Crestini, H. Lange, M. Gigli, M. Sgarzi (eds.), ISBN 9788831461580.


  • Analytical Methods related to wood, fiber, and pulp
  • Biochemistry and biotechnology of wood and wood components
  • Chemistry and technology of pulping and bleaching
  • Paper science and technology
  • Chemistry of wood and wood components: Cellulose, Hemicellulose, Lignin, Wood extractives
  • Emerging Biorefineries and wood fractionation technologies
  • Materials, Nanomaterials and products from lignocellulosics

John Ralph - Lifetime achievement award

John Ralph is a Professor of Biochemistry and a senior researcher at the DOE Great Lakes Bioenergy Research Center at the University of Wisconsin-Madison and, since 2015, a Distinguished Professor of the Tokyo University of Agriculture and Technology. He obtained his B.Sc.-Hons in Chemistry at Canterbury University, New Zealand, in 1976, and his Ph.D. in Chemistry/Forestry at the University of Wisconsin-Madison in 1982. Ralph’s group is recognized for its work on lignin biosynthesis, including delineation of the pathways of monolignol biosynthesis, lignin chemistry, and lignin reactions. The chemical/structural effects of perturbing lignin biosynthesis has been a focus, and extensions are aimed at redesigning lignins to be more valuable or more readily degraded. The group develops analytical methods and synthetic methods for biosynthetic products, precursors, intermediates, molecular markers, and cell wall model compounds. Ralph was elected as a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) in 2005, and has been named by the Institute for Scientific Information as one of the most cited authors in the plant and animal sciences every year since 2007.

Thomas Rosenau

Thomas Rosenau is professor at BOKU University Vienna at the Department of Chemistry, holding the chair of Wood, Pulp and Fiber Chemistry. He heads the Division of Chemistry of Renewable Resources, Chair of Wood, Pulp and Fiber Chemistry, University of Natural Resources and Life Science Vienna. Thomas does research in Organic Chemistry, Green Chemistry and Analytical Chemistry, focusing on the two biopolymers cellulose (structure, modification, aging and yellowing, paper, fibers) and lignin (structure, utilization, analytical method development), as well as on plant extractives and antioxidants.

  • Umesh Agarwal: On the crystallinity of cellulose in wood: The newest findings lend further support its noncrystalline nature
  • Katalin Barta: Tunable and functional deep eutectic solvents for lignocellulose fractionation and lignin depolymerization
  • José C. del Rio: Lignin monomers from beyond the canonical monolignol biosynthetic pathway - Another brick in the wall
  • Dmitry Evtuguin: The fate of heteroxylan from eucalyptus wood in acid sulphite pulping of dissolving pulp
  • Steffen Fischer: Synthesis, characterization and application of lignin hydrogels
  • Georg Gübitz: Green enzyme-based upgrading of lignins
  • Nathalie Lavoine: Is wood type decisive for the manufacturing of superior sustainable packaging from cellulose nanomaterials?
  • Martin Lawoko: Novel insights on lignin structure and reactivity studied by NMR, MALDI-ToF MS and DFT simulations
  • Mojgan Nejad: Lignin-Based Polyurethanes
  • Mohini Sain: Evolution of nanocellulose over the past 20 years from research to market
  • Joseph Samec: Lignin-first: Holistic valorization of biomass
  • Tuo Wang: Molecular Snapshots of Carbohydrate-Aromatic Interface in Lignocellulose by Multidimensional Solid-State NMR

Section Wood and Biorefinery: WBP19 “Adding speed to lignin analysis straight from black liquors”
Nadine Kohlhuber, Oliver Musl, Irina Sulaeva, Ivan Sumerskii, Stefan Böhmdorfer, Thomas Rosenau, Antje Potthast

Section Cellulose: CP3 “Fermentation of textile hydrolysate for the production of bacterial cellulose for high-tech applications”
Tom Distler, K. Huemer, V. Leitner

Section Lignin: LP27 “Lignin-Bonded Composites from Sawmill Byproducts”
Sebastian Serna-Loaiza, Cornelia Hofbauer, Luis Zelaya-Lainez, Luisa Scolari, Florian Zikeli, Hinrich Grothe, Josef Füssl, Anton Friedl, Markus Lukacevic, Michael Harasek

The members of executive, organizing, and scientific committees of ISWFPC 2023 have been selected among leading scientists in wood science.

Scientific committee

  • Dimitris Argyropoulos, USA
  • Ewellyn Capanema, Sweden
  • Tomoya Yokoyama, Japan
  • Christine Chirat, France
  • Claudia Crestini, Italy
  • Monica Ek, Sweden
  • Shiyu Fu, China
  • Richard Gosselink, Netherlands
  • Ana Gutierrez, Spain
  • Akira Isogai, Japan
  • Hasan Jameel, USA 
  • John Kadla, Canada
  • Dominique Lachenal, France
  • Heiko Lange, Italy
  • Angel Martinez, Spain
  • Marco Orlandi, Italy
  • Antje Potthast, Austria
  • John Ralph, USA
  • Roberto Rinaldi, UK
  • Orlando Rojas, Canada
  • Thomas Rosenau, Austria
  • Bodo Saake, Germany
  • Joseph Samec, Sweden
  • Runcang Sun, China
  • Anna Sundberg, Finland
  • Toshiaki Umezawa, Japan
  • Yasumitsu Uraki, Japan

Local organizing committee

  • Claudia Crestini, Ca’ Foscari University of Venice
  • Maurizio Selva, Ca’ Foscari University of Venice
  • Giulia Fiorani, Ca’ Foscari University of Venice
  • Matteo Gigli, Ca’ Foscari University of Venice
  • Massimo Sgarzi, Ca’ Foscari University of Venice
  • Nicolò Pajer, Ca’ Foscari University of Venice
  • Giulia Licini, University of Padua 
  • Heiko Lange, University of Milan - Bicocca


  • Claudia Crestini, Ca’ Foscari University of Venice

Programme chair

  • Heiko Lange, University of Milan - Bicocca

Executive committee

  • Ewellyn Capanema, RISE, Stockholm, Sweden
  • Claudia Crestini, Ca’ Foscari University of Venice, Venice, Italy
  • Hasan Jameel, NC State University, Raleigh, USA  
  • John Ralph, University of Wisconsin, Madison, USA
  • Orlando Rojas, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Canada
  • Thomas Rosenau, BOKU University Vienna, Vienna, Austria
  • Anna Sundberg, Åbo Akademi University, Turku, Finland
  • Tomoya Yokoyama, The University of Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan

Main sponsor




With the support of

Conference secretariat

Under the patronage of